Review: Pokemon Shuffle

Hello guys!

It’s been almost 2 weeks since I’ve last posted. I’ve been super busy recently which is why I haven’t been able to blog. After next week is over I should have plenty of time to blog to my heart’s content!

Today I will be reviewing Pokemon Shuffle, a game that came out on Nintendo 3DS in the middle of last month. It’s one of Nintendo’s several free-to-play games and is basically the same thing as Candy Crush except with a Pokemon paint cover. For fans who have played Pokemon Battle Trozei, I think you’ll feel right at home here. In the game, you get points based on how well you can connect three or more of the same Pokemon. Pokemon types play a factor on how fast you can cause an enemy Pokemon to faint so a nice knowledge of which types are effective against which types would be beneficial.

kyogre-pokemon-shuffle

The game provides you with a set number of moves that you can use to defeat the Pokemon. Your goal is to defeat the Pokemon in as little moves as possible for the extra moves will be converted to a higher catch rate at the end of the level.

Unfortunately, I got bored of Pokemon Shuffle pretty fast. It would probably be because of how common these kinds of games are and how hard it is to catch certain Pokemon even when you have a decent amount of moves left over. You wouldn’t think they’d be hard to catch but, no, they are (not all, but some).

And what makes matters worse is the fact that playing a game will take a life away whether or not you win. In other games like this you’d only lose a life if you actually failed to achieve the main goal of the level. The fact that Pokemon Shuffle takes away a life no matter what you do…This drives me nuts. To kind of make up for this is streetpassing. If you streetpass with others who also play Pokemon Shuffle you could get a few extra lives in addition to the five you are able to have already.

The game has no 3D capabilities but the soundtrack is cute and simple and same goes for the 2D visuals. If you check in everyday you can get 500 gold coins. It seems like a lot but buying a booster at the beginning of a level requires wayyyy more coins than that (so most of the time I just hoard my coins).

Also… Some of those prices for those gems that you can buy with real money… It’s scary how high they are. I think the most expensive pack of gems was almost 50 dollars. Why would anybody in their right minds spend that much on a free-to-play game while you could spend that money to buy Ocarina of Time 3D or Majora’s Mask 3D? Or maybe Monster Hunter 4? Fire Emblem: Awakening? Well, I guess somebody out there would which is why they give you that option in the first place.

pokemon-shuffle-pikachu

I’ve heard some pretty positive feedback about the game from other people but it just isn’t my cup of tea.

One thing I do appreciate is that they’re not constantly hounding you to buy gems, buy gems ,BUY GEMS.  They’re not too aggressive about it which is a relief.

Over all, I was not too impressed with the game but it didn’t cost me a dime so I guess I’ll just move on.  Overall I would give Pokemon Shuffle a 6/10. In my opinion, the game is satisfying (in terms of visuals, music, and length) when you think about how it’s free. Unfortunately, it couldn’t keep my attention for too long but, fans who love Pokemon and enjoy Candy Crush and other match 3 games will probably really enjoy this.

Thanks for reading!

Sincerely,

The7thExperiment

xs_intro

Sources: Pokemon Shuffle Feature Image || Kyogre Gameplay Image || Pokemon Pikachu Image || Mega Audino Image

Leave a Reply

