Reactions: Jan. 2015 Nintendo Direct “The Big Hitters” Part 1

Almost a month ago, Nintendo held a brand new Nintendo Direct to welcome in the New Year. Within the direct, Nintendo showed off more than 20 games both new and ones we already knew were coming. I know, because… Well, I counted… And made a list.

For now I will only be covering the major games such as Majora’s Mask 3DS and the new Fire Emblem game! In future posts, I will share my thoughts and reactions about some of the smaller announcements as well.

The first game I’d like to talk about would be the first thing we saw… In my opinion, it is probably the best thing. The new addition in the Fire Emblem series! Imagine my excitement as I watched this epic battle unfold right before my eyes (in my computer screen). For what seemed like an eternity, I had no idea what the hell was going on. Who are these people? What is that giant rock thing? I know I’ve seen that somewhere!!!

Rock thing Picture of giant rock thing

Or maybe I’m just imagining things and I really didn’t see it anywhere…

Either way, that is one fancy looking fight scene. It looked a lot like a movie! My immediate reactions after this trailer were surprise, excitement, and intense happiness. I was definitely not expecting this! Fire Emblem: Awakening for 3DS was definitely one of my favorite 3DS games of all time. To hear there is another entry in the series coming out (hopefully this year) is absolutely amazing!

 If you would like to watch the trailer for the new Fire Emblem game, please click the following link. http://youtu.be/Pz2LJ-4DDWU

Super Mario Line amiibo

The next wonderful piece of news I’d love to bring up would be that new line of Super Mario bros amiibo. I mean, just look at that Toad! And don’t forget Yoshi. He’s posing like he has overalls on. I don’t know about you guys but, I love amiibo and have contracted what I like to call, “amiibo fever”.  And lets not forget that wave 4 amiibo for the Super Smash Bros. line! Robin and Lucina will be the two I will be preordering. Hopefully, things don’t turn into a bloodbath…

The Super Mario bros amiibo line is set for a March 20th, 2015 release.

SplatoonNow isn’t that just mesmerizing? I don’t know about you but, when I first saw those huge purple and yellow-green eyes, I couldn’t help but be drawn to their exotic hypnotism. I mean, just look.

splatoonoctopus

Well, actually now that I see it again… He also looks a little brain dead.

Ever since the announcement of Splatoon at E3, I have been greatly anticipating the arrival of this colorful new shooter game from Nintendo. This new IP is definitely one of the most creative and every single time they show it off, I fall more and more in love with it. The game, not the octopus.

In the Jan. 2015 Direct, Nintendo shows its viewers for the first time the main plaza area where there will be an assortment of stores with interesting shopkeepers and the door that you’ll go through to engage in many online multiplayer battles. This game screams out a summer release and that’s exactly what they gave us. Splatoon is planning to make its way into retail stores and in the Nintendo eShop in May 2015.

LoZMM_Nov052014_A02

As my last pick for this particular blog entry, I have chosen to talk about Majora’s Mask for 3DS. This is a game I grew up watching my brother play on the Nintendo 64. He got his hands on the beautiful golden cartridge on its original release date back in 2000. Fifteen years later, the game is making a come back on the 3DS allowing a brand new generation of gamers (as well as older ones) to experience the creepy and dark world of Majora’s Mask. When this remake was first announced some time ago, I remember not being able to hold my breath in. It was something I had been wishing for for a very long time and to hear that it’s finally coming true… as a gamer, there is nothing better than that. At the January 2015 direct, I was surprised by how quickly the game would be coming out.  It is set to be released once again on February 13th, 2015. That is only about 2 weeks away!

That is all for part 1 of my reactions for Jan 2015 Nintendo Direct “The Big Hitters”. I’ll see you again in the next blog post where I will be covering Part 2 focusing on the new Nintendo 3DS handheld system, Code Name Steam, Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate, and Xenoblade Chronicles X. Thanks for reading!

Sincerely,

7

Disclaimer: Images that I have used in this post are not mine. Here are some links to the images I used.

Fire Emblem Girl image || Super Mario Line amiibo || Splatoon Octopus || Majora’s Mask || Splatoon Three Octopus

Leave a Reply

